RoR

Share |

Postby dhubertus » Thu Apr 16, 2015 12:56 pm

Newbie here. May as well declare such as some things become self evident in short order. I'm looking for opinions on Rates Of Rise for the different phases and please correct me if I have mis-stated the phase temps:

1.) RoR for "Drying" phase (bean turn around 175F to end of drying around 290F?) i.e. if turn @ 1:30 and dry @ 5:00 the RoR is a non-linear 115F/3.5 min = 32d/m or 16d/30 sec.
2.) RoR for "Middle" phase (290F to FC/380F)
3.) RoR for "Development" phase (FC to drop)

I'm trying to lay out a realistic curve and realizing it transitions from slower to faster to slower and would appreciate thoughts as to "approximate" average degrees/30 second increments within a phase. I also understand the charge temp, quantity and drop temp all need to be factored in but trying to get a handle on how fast the different phases are in relation to the overall roast.

Apologize in advance if this is a novice question and truly appreciate your feedback.
Dave
dhubertus

First Name: Dave
Last Name: Hubertus
City: Lincoln
State: Nebraska
Zip Code: 68523

Postby etanlawok » Fri Jun 12, 2015 7:28 am

I'd love to be able to post a response but I am new as well. I feel like I could speak to it in some way but don't want to distribute misinformation.
etanlawok

First Name: Nate
Last Name: Kowal
City: Brooklyn
State: NY
Zip Code: 11229
Company: Blue Bottle Coffee
Roasting Since (Year): 2015

Postby dhubertus » Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:53 am